i believe…

Standard

I believe
I believe
I believe
Oh I believe
All will be forgivenI believe
I believe
I believe
Oh I believe
There is love in heaven

-Spring Awakening “I Believe”

Spring Awakening – I Believe

Spring Awakening is a Tony-award winning musical that debuted in 2006, based on a banned, controversial 1891 play of the same name.  You can read the basic  synopsis here but overall it is very brave, liberating, raw and a bit forward thinking for its time.  Some call it too sexually open, others call it the anthem of modern youth.  Interestingly enough, it is very “liberated” even for today and yet it is set in 19th century Germany.   The haunting music and lyrics are reminiscent of rock music and also have flavors of Evanescence.  And yet the characters, setting and plot takes place in the Old World.  I love the juxtaposition.

Anyways, if you go to Rosie’s Believe Video, she uses this music to narrate her latest video of slideshow pictures from R Family Cruises, which is basically a gathering of gay families.  The cruise was started to honor children of gay parents and provide support for them.

This is a touchy subject, I realize for some, yet I was especially drawn to the video…for some reason the haunting music challenged my thinking further.  What do you believe?  Will all be forgiven?  Is there really love in heaven?

Please check out the video.  I don’t want this to be a debate, but I want to know how your heart reacts?  Is it a visceral response, like it is for me?  I want to believe, that there is love here on earth too–that we can be forgiven, you…me…us…them…  I think Jesus would probably be on that cruise if He were here today, being present with outcasts.

Leave a Reply

