my beautiful collision

Standard

David Crowder – A Beautiful Collision

(if the images in the video above do something for you, great, but if not, you can just listen… i post the videos so you can see the sources of my thoughts.)

The breaking makes a sound I never knew
Could be so beautiful and loud
Fury filled and we collide
So courageous until now, fumbling and scared
So afraid You’ll find me out
Alone here with my doubt

Here it comes, a beautiful collision
Is happening now
There seems no end to where You begin and
There I am now
You and I collide

Something circling inside
Spaciously you fly, infinite and wide
Like the moon and sky, collide

Here it comes now

-David Crowder Band, A Beautiful Collision

I survived my 2nd day driving since the accident 7 months ago…so far it’s going fine, if I can just conquer the nerves.  On January 15th I learned a new meaning to the word “collision”.  It means, “your life is about to change.  Get ready for the ride.”

People talk about their faiths all the time as a journey with God.  Sometimes they make it sound blissful and happy and I wonder if they are living in an alternate universe.  Sometimes they quote their recent devotional reading or talk about how God totally answered their prayer.  Sometimes they talk about the “plan”. 

I’ve always thought I was both a pretty innocent pagan yet a pretty bad Christian.  I kinda ride down the middle, sometimes embracing my snarkiness to the extreme, other times being kind because something good in God takes over.

I’ve worked and lived both in CCM-land/ministry and in pagan-land/Broadway.  (Extreme exaggeration there to get a laugh…make a point).  Truth be told…I’ve met just as many kind and generous people in either camp.  And I’ve met as many cranky jerks.

What if the Christian and the pagan isn’t that different, how does it look when these worlds, collide?  I want my life to be a beautiful collision.

One response »

Leave a Reply

