wash over us.

Standard

Russell Crowe recently announced (credits go to Hello Magazine and Celebrity Baby Blog) that he will be baptised along with his youngest son Tennyson.  Crowe will be baptised in the same chapel that his eldest son, Charlie was baptised.  A notorious former bad-boy, now reformed father, this caused quite a stir in the media world.

My mum and dad decided to let my brother and me make our own decisions about God when we got to the right age. I started thinking recently, ‘If I believe it’s important to baptize my kids, why not me?’

For many, baptism is a sacrament of faith.  A holy passage in one’s faith journey or a sacred rite.  Other than the standard sprinkling or immersion of water, the dictionary defines baptism as:

to cleanse spiritually; initiate or dedicate by purifying.

I am not sure if Christianity is the only religion to baptise.  I imagine that many faiths use this as a symbol, allegory or metaphor.  What are your thoughts?

Leave a Reply

