changeling

Standard

I have really struggled with my faith over the past year or so.  Actually, when I think about it I really haven’t doubted God so much as I have lost a great deal of faith in church.  I probably too-obviously hint about it and then try to act coy like no one gets it.  But this boy-loving girl just doesn’t understand why the Christian world at large is sometimes so-hateful toward my boy friends that like boys.  I get that this isn’t a big issue for everyone and I probably make it a bigger issue than it needs to be, but I just want to scream when I feel people make God out to be a hate-monger.  But I really do pick fights and need to confess that, both to my Dad and to everyone else.  This probably has something to do with some lacking area in my own life, things I am working through.  I think the frustration with church (not a specific church mind you, but the American church at large) buts up and juxtaposes itself against coming to terms with my own issues (abuse, parents divorce and remarriage, etc…things that are just too painful and not appropriate for a public blog).  I am in counseling and thriving, which is a testament enough!  :)  I am fighting with the idea of institutionalized religion and authority, and I’m sure I’ll work through it and come to terms with it.

And at the end of the day, I know God is still God.  I am thankful that while I fight internally about the concept and realities of church–I know without a shadow of a doubt that there is a God in all this mess.  I don’t know exactly what that always looks like or understand the complexities of how everyone relates to that.

But THE POINT IS I saw “Changeling” last night and it was fabulous.  Fabulous actually isn’t the right word, that is more fitting for something light and bubbly and refreshing in my humble opinion.  Changeling was moving and gut-wrenching and important and earnest.  It was traumatic and enriching and a story too important not to tell.  It was why I want to be in this industry more than anything, to tell stories that need to be told.  I get more spiritual insights from film and tv than anything else really.  Sounds crazy to some but it’s how God works in my life

“Changeling” reminded me big time of something I needed to be reminded of.  There is evil and oppression and injustice and corruption out there and in my own life.  That movie was so piercing to my heart.  All I wanted to do is run home and hold all the babies in my care.  To protect children everywhere.  There was so much evil in the hearts of the villians in the story–the man who brutally kidnapped and murdered those boys, the police chief who tried to bury the story, the policeman who had Collins put into a horrific mental institution and emotionally assaulted her in such corrupt ways, the cruel psychiatrist at the institution).  There is no hope in this world but a God who can redeem, restore and save us.  That movie reminded me of so many things, but one thing stood out–this world is so in need of a savior.  The lyrics that kept pingponging around my mind during the most intense scenes to watch were, “justice and mercy meet on the cross” (from Brenton Brown’s ‘Jesus You Are Worthy’).

So despite my own struggle with institutional church I know there is a God out there and I need God to save me.

(The video above is only to refresh the minds of those who were wondering what song I was talking about.  I do not endorse the cheesiness of it.)

One response »

  1. I think I understand when you say that you lost a great deal of faith in the church. The past three churches I have been a member of have split and I just couldn’t understand how believers couldn’t even get along. I left the church for a while and being apart from Him I degraded to the point of even questioning the existence of God. But then some of the craziest hardships of my life started happening to me and I was just broken. God got my attention and I surrendered to Him. (this stuff was pretty recent).
    As you said, God is still God. God is indeed in all of this mess. Our own worlds can be a mess and hardships will come. Just some words of encouragement– I actually think it can be a good thing that you are struggling with your faith– it forces you to think about it and to deal with it. Jesus said that He will spit out the lukewarm- and that He’d rather have us hot or cold (Rev. 3:16).
    God loves you and He is in control. Hebrews 12 shows us at we should fix our eyes on Jesus, and see all that He endured to redeem us. The passage also encourages us to remain strong and endure with joy despite the hardships because God disciplines and reproves those He loves– His children. The hardships will be painful rather than pleasant but it will yield peaceful fruit of righteousness to those who have been trained by it– He is making us holy as He is holy through discipline.
    Be strong in Christ- fix your eyes on Him. He is the author and perfecter of our faith (Hebrews 12:2), He who began a good work in you will finish it (Phillipians 1:6) and God works in all things (even the unpleasant) for the good of those who love Him (Romans 8:28).
    Lastly, know that…
    Romans 8:38-39
    For I am sure that neither death nor life, nor angels nor rulers, nor things present nor things to come, nor powers, nor height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God in Christ Jesus our Lord.
    You are His. You will endure hardship but you are secure in His hand. Jesus gave you eternal life and He promises that nothing can snatch you away from His hand. (John 10:28).
    He loves you so much. Bless you.

Leave a Reply

