social responsibility: celeb apprentice style

Standard

Feel free to watch the entire episode here and tell me what you think in the comments section below.  You can also check out LPA’s official press release on the matter.

First of all–seriously?!  Both celebrity teams just “happened” to want to use little people as the punch line…hmm…

I’m not a regular viewer of Celebrity Apprentice but my friend Clint (who happens to be an LP) told me about it…

So here are my thoughts:

Part 1:

“Jesse James bathed by midgets…”
“That would be funny”.
“Jesse James being bathed by little people.”

It’s not even about the word – midget vs. little people.  Seriously.  What is so inherently funny about me, or a group of people like me?  Just stick a midget in a commercial and people will laugh?  That hurts. 

What if I changed midget to black person, homosexual, or mentally retarded?  Is that so laughable?  So then why is it okay–or why is it so darn funny–“midgets” make it viral?

Just put a bunch of little people in the video and people will gawk and laugh?  Wow.  I’m not angry because they used the less PC-term, midget, instead of little people.  I’m angry that they think I’m a sub-species just inherently funny because I exist.  I’m all for comedy–even things that push the envelope–but what about social responsibility?

Tell me, will someone please tell me, why I am such a joke?

Part 2:

Okay, so obviously the LP’s aren’t offended and need a buck or two or are perfectly fine with “selling out.”  But at the end of the day, I would urge them to consider the bigger picture.  Bigger than a freakin’ dollar or two–did they consider the social implications of what they were participating in?  That they were hired to be laughed at.  What would LP children think who saw this?  That they exist to be laughed at?

Jesse James was pretty nice overall, “I treat ’em like anyone else, they’re exactly the same as us, they’re just ‘that big'”.  But what I didn’t get was this statement by James:

“They know that people point and laugh at them and they’re totally comfortable within themselves to laugh back.”

I get it.  So I’m just not “comfortable with myself” so I won’t put myself in their position?  How about the fact that I am just one generation ahead of the little people whose parents gave them up to institutions and circuses because society told them to be ashamed?  Why would I support taking things back a decade or two, rather than moving things forward.  My biological parents gave me up for adoption because they didn’t want me to be institutionalized in Israel.  They gave me a chance.  It hurts, it makes me really sad, that we’ve come so far and yet still have so far to go.

SOCIAL RESPONSIBILITY people, SOCIAL RESPONSIBILITY.  Get into it.

Feel free to watch the entire episode here and tell me what you think in the comments section below.

4 responses »

  1. Hi Jen, I read your comment and I have to say that my kids 8 and 7 were concerned. They did not like the fact that they seemed to be making fun of people who happened to be little. My kids do not understand politically correct or socially correct or any of the rest of these fancy terms. ALl they know is being poked at hurts. I also was wondering if they really were trying to do a play on words “small and mighty” I really hope that they were thinking of that and not singling out a certain community of people. I really have no clue. I am grateful for your opinion and plan on sharing it with my kiddos since they themselves were concerned and also interested.
    ALl the best to you,

    Vanessa Polaski

  2. Just wanted to say that I didn’t know about your biological parents (or rather, didn’t know you were adopted) and the situations today (or 20+ years ago) in Israel. That was just incredibly fascinating to me. Thanks for sharing that history. xoxo

Leave a Reply

